Question about 1999 Volvo S70

1 Answer

Smog inspection i am having a lot of trouble getting my smog inspection to pass at my wits ends!!!!

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Master:

    An expert who has achieved Level 3.

  • Master
  • 563 Answers

What engine codes do you have. If there is an emissions problem there should be a check engine light.

Posted on May 19, 2013

Testimonial: "No engine lights are on."

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE:

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

1774 and 1775


There is probably no need to contact the BAR though you always have the right reserved. Trouble Code P1774 indicates your Mini's rear wheel speed sensor lost its signal, and trouble code P1775 indicates the right rear wheel speed sensor lost its signal as well. Both more than likely triggered during the dynamometer portion of the smog check inspection; while the front wheels are turning and the rear wheels are stationary. During this time, as far as the ABS system knows, the rear wheel sensors have lost their signals.
After a computer reset and driving your Mini Cooper for a few miles everything should return to normal, as apparently they have; and you've passed the smog check. Should the check engine light return in the near future for the same trouble codes P1774 and P1775 we'd recommend inspecting the rear wheel speed sensors for possible debris build-up. Since these trouble codes where triggered during the smog check and smog check machine failure we can assume the trouble codes were temporary and not related to any physical problem with your Mini Cooper.

Oct 23, 2013 | 2006 Mini Cooper

1 Answer

Wat do i do 2 make da check engine light on a 98 chevy s10 come off so it can pass smog?


making the light go out will not enable the car to pass smog! it is indicating a problem and this problem will surface when it is checked at smog inspection.

Sep 21, 2011 | Chevrolet S 10 Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I have a 96 Sentra which has been sitting for two years. it has 240,000 miles on it. It runs smooth but will not pass California Smog. What parts can I check or replace to improve the chances of passing...


CHANGE AIR FILTER.CLEAN FUEL INJECTORS.CHANGE SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES.BECAUSE MISFIRE CAUSE RICH CARBON MONOXIDE OUT PUT.MAKE SURE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT NOT ON IF SO CAR WONT PASS INSPECTION.CODE SCAN CAR SEE WHAT TROUBLE YOU ARE GETTING.

Feb 27, 2011 | 1996 Nissan Sentra

1 Answer

Cat converter dosent work and wont pass smog


You may have to replace the converter. When the converter go bad it generally would transmit black smoke. This would prevent you from passing vehicle smog inspections.

Nov 28, 2010 | 1996 Mercury Sable

1 Answer

How can I fix the engine from running rich? It runs so rich. It doesn't pass CA Smog? How can I isolate the problem? Also the car has been sitting in driveway for a couple years. But I started it for first...


this is what i did when my 89 chevy beretta failed and the guy handed me a pamphlet on turning in your junker car for a $1000...and he was kind of laughing like you failed and i got you money anyway because he thinks he knows that there's no way my car will pass again.
here's what i did.
#1 changed out all plugs and wires
#2 changed my oxygen sensor
#3 inspected all my vacuum hoses found a crack going to the MAP sensor
i just cut off that end and shoved it back on. and changed out the PCV valve and also found a crack in that hose but couldnt replace it, so i just rapped it real tight with black electrical tape.
#4 cleaned up throttle body real good and the IAC sensor with throttle body cleaner
#5 replaced the oil and filter
#6 serviced the transmission fluid
#7 replaced my catalytic convertor
#8 ran my car around and got it real hot before taking it in
retested and you should have seen the look on his face and i said thanks to him my car was only getting 19 to 20 miles to the gallon my dash computer says im getting 28 now. it was really low smog readings and he couldnt believe it.
so if you do all these things it cost $150 for a cheap cat
i think $40 for oxygen sensor
$30 for oil and filter
$60 for trans service
$40 plugs and wires
$7 throttle body cleaner
$8 PCV
total $335 it should pass
on my other car it failed smog so i went this time and just changed the cat and it passed..not quite as good as my beretta but a pass is a pass. try this and you'll probably at least pass! who knows you might even increse your mpg. Can you rate this, thanks!

May 09, 2010 | 1990 Pontiac Grand Prix

1 Answer

My 88 ford f250 didnt pass smog the other day. it


one end goes to intake manifold vacuum nipple and the other one goes to the evap [carbon] canister

Apr 24, 2010 | 1989 Ford F 250

2 Answers

My 1997 saturn SL1 wont pass a smog test..was told when I changed the battery it messed up the computer and I need to reset the computer. How do I do this?


Only service station can reset.If your check engine light is on go to a Pep Boys or auto barn most will read the computer diagnostic for free.( $ 5-10 ) tip might get them to reset it,might.I don't know what a service station charges $ 75 ? good luck

Sep 05, 2009 | 1997 Saturn SL

1 Answer

Correct timing for a 1989 Dodge Ramcharger


i had the same experience but what i have come to find out on the 89 tbi they usually run best when timed by ear or feel if it idles good and runs fine drive it just at smog time tune it wit a light they get us out here in cali if its off at smog only stations

Dec 28, 2008 | 1989 Dodge Ramcharger

1 Answer

My truck wont pass virginia state inspection


http://www.summitracing.com

call thier tech support to get the exact part numbers and help for installation..

Jun 11, 2008 | 1985 Chevrolet Chevy

Not finding what you are looking for?
1999 Volvo S70 Logo

Related Topics:

130 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Volvo Experts

Marvin
Marvin

Level 3 Expert

85178 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22484 Answers

Jonah Oneal

Level 3 Expert

14092 Answers

Are you a Volvo Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...